A backup is a file that contain your data. You can't open it.
It can be used only inside the app and they are really useful to keep you data safe and from move your data between devices.
However, if you reset you device at the factory data, the data will be lost unless the backup has been saved in Dropbox!
The backups will be created in the folder ".../FastBudget/Import", in the external memory of your phone, and in the "Apps/FastBudget/Backup" folder in Dropbox.
You can create a backup in the Settings page, Backup section.
If you set the autosave option(strongly recommended), a backup is created every day at the specified time.
The name of these backups will be "AutoBackup_", followed by, in order: Year, month, day, hour and minute of when it was created.
It's possible to set the maximum number of automatic backups stored in memory.
If this limit is exceeded, the oldest will be deleted.
You can restore a backup in the same section.
Backups saved in the device and in Dropbox are not showed at the same time.
When you retrieve data from a backup, the current database is deleted.